10 Easy Fixes – Best

Brown sauce, mushroom sauce, onion sauce, cream sauce, vegetable sauce or any other type of sauce is an indispensable condiment that we use to enhance the flavor of our food.

Sauce is usually made from the meat juices that run out during cooking, stock or broth, thickener, and seasonings. You can make gravy with the drippings from different meats like pork, turkey, chicken, and beef.

But you can also make sauce with sausage, ham or bacon juices and with roasted or boiled vegetables or mushrooms. It can also be found in stores as a canned or dry-mixed instant sauce, which you can make simply by adding water.

Different recipes use different types of sauce, such as roast meat, rice, meatloaf, cookies, mashed potatoes, fries, and noodles.

If you don’t want to use flour or cornstarch or for some reason you don’t want to use flour or cornstarch to thicken your sauce, there are other alternatives you can use.

Some flour or cornstarch substitutes for the sauce include potato starch, rice flour, arrowroot flour, tapioca flour, onions, gelatin, xanthan gum, or some of the following ingredients.

Let’s learn more about each substitute below!

Different Ways to Thicken Sauce Without Flour or Cornstarch

Here are the ingredients you can use instead of flour or cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Some are gluten-free and suitable for people with gluten allergies.

1. Potato starch

Potato starch is a clear, white, neutral-tasting powder extracted from potatoes. It is therefore a good water absorber; it is used as a thickener in sauces, sauces, soups, casseroles, casseroles and pie fillings.

Potato starch is also used in baked goods and as a coating for fried foods. It is gluten-free and suitable for people allergic to gluten. You shouldn’t heat potato starch too long because it can break down and make your sauce thinner than it should be.

2. Rice flour

rice flour

Rice flour is another gluten-free ingredient made from ground white or brown rice. It is most often used as a substitute for wheat flour in cookies, cookies and cakes and as a thickener in stews, soups, sauces and other recipes.

Rice flour is colorless and has a neutral taste. You can use it as a sauce thickener instead of cornstarch or flour and get a sauce with a rich, smooth and thick texture.

3. Arrowroot flour

Arrowroot flour

Arrowroot flour is made from the ground and dried roots of tropical plants. It is a gluten-free, tasteless, and colorless flour that is typically used as a coating for fried foods and as a thickener in fruit fillings, jellies, gravies, gravies, and soups.

If you want to use arrowroot flour as a thickener in a sauce, boil it before adding it to the sauce. Because if you add arrowroot flour to a hot liquid, it will clump together and spoil your sauce.

Arrowroot flour should not be used with dairy products because you will end up with a recipe with a slimy texture.

4. Tapioca flour

Tapioca flour

Tapioca flour is another gluten-free thickener you can use in both sweet and savory recipes. It is made from the roots of the cassava plant and has no particular taste.

Tapioca flour is used in soups, sauces, gravies, stews, jellies, jams, pie fillings, and baked goods. Make a slurry of one tablespoon of water and one tablespoon of tapioca flour and add it to the sauce. Mix until you get the desired texture.

5. Onions

yellow onions

Onions add a nice rich, sweet caramelized flavor to your sauce. If you don’t have another thickener on hand, you can cook the onions until soft and caramelized.

Crush the caramelized onions, add the broth and bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until desired thickness. Add salt, pepper and spices to taste and enjoy.

The only downside to this thickener is that it takes longer to caramelize the onions.

6. Gelatin

Gelatin sheets

Gelatin is made from collagen found in the bones, skin and connective tissues of pigs, cattle, chickens and fish. You can find gelatin in powder and sheet form.

Gelatin is used as a thickener in sweet and savory recipes. It is best to use powdered gelatin as a thickener in the sauce. Use 1 tablespoon of gelatin powder to thicken 2 cups of liquid.

First mix the gelatin with 2 tablespoons of cold water and leave to stand for about 5 minutes. Slowly add the mixture to the simmering sauce and stir to combine. Remove from heat and allow to cool and thicken, as gelatin will thicken as it cools.

7. Xanthan Gum

xanthan gum

Xanthan gum is a food additive used as a stabilizer and thickener in various sauces, salad dressings, pastries, ice creams, sauces and soups.

To thicken the sauce with xanthan gum, all you have to do is mix it with water and add the mixture to the sauce. Xanthan gum doesn’t need to be heated or cooled to create a gel-like texture, so it can be used in a variety of recipes.

To thicken a cup of sauce, mix one tablespoon of oil with 1/8 teaspoon of xanthan gum and add it to the sauce. Mix and simmer until you get the desired texture.

8. Pureed Vegetables

mashed cauliflower

Pureed vegetables can also be used as a thickener for sauce.

You can use roast potatoes, carrots, beets, parsnips or other vegetables of your choice. Just mix them together and add them to the sauce. Simmer to obtain a nice thick and tasty sauce.

Vegetables have different flavors that can change the taste of your sauce. Therefore, use the one whose taste you prefer.

9. Agar powder

Agar-Agar

Agar powder is a vegetable alternative to gelatin. It is made from a type of red algae and is used as a thickening and stabilizing agent in cooking.

If you want to use agar powder as a thickener in your sauce, add it to the sauce and let the mixture simmer until thickened. You need one teaspoon of agar powder to thicken one cup of liquid.

10. Reduction Method

sausage sauce

If you don’t have a thickener on hand, you can use the reduction method to thicken your sauce. After adding the broth to the pan, simmer until thickened. You get a sauce with a more concentrated and saltier flavor due to the reduced liquid.

related questions

How to thicken a sauce without flour or cornstarch?

If you don’t have flour or cornstarch, you can thicken a sauce with potato starch, rice flour, arrowroot flour, tapioca flour, xanthan gum or agar powder.

What thickens the sauce besides flour and cornstarch?

In addition to flour and cornstarch, potato starch, rice flour, tapioca flour, and arrowroot flour can thicken the sauce.

How to thicken a sauce without flour?

You can thicken the sauce without flour if you use cornstarch, arrowroot flour, or any of the other ingredients mentioned in this article.

What can I use as a thickener instead of flour or cornstarch?

As a thickener instead of flour or cornstarch, you can use rice flour, potato starch, arrowroot flour or tapioca flour.

How to thicken a sauce without flour or cornstarch?

You can thicken any sauce without flour or cornstarch if you use potato starch, rice flour, arrowroot flour, tapioca flour, mashed vegetables, xanthan gum or agar powder.

How to thicken milk without flour or cornstarch?

You can thicken milk without flour or cornstarch if you use arrowroot flour, rice flour, xanthan gum, potato starch, tapioca flour, gelatin or other thickener.

You can also reduce the milk to thicken it. Heat the milk over low heat and stir to prevent it from burning. The water in the milk will evaporate, leaving you with thicker milk.

Latest tips

There are many alternatives to flour and cornstarch that you can use to thicken the sauce.

Just use whichever you prefer that gives the best texture if you use it as a thickener instead of flour and cornstarch.

A flavorful sauce with a thick, smooth consistency is a great condiment that you can use in many different recipes.